Green Thumb Project

Green Thumb Project – Day 2

According to the insert that was in the planter on purchase, it is best to keep the tulips out of direct sun light and keep it’s environment cool. So I have it in the most strategic place in my bedroom – where as before I would run out of my house, I now make sure to open the blinds before starting my day so that my baby tulips can grow.

March 27, 2011 :

I was amazed by how rapidly these tulips were blooming. Only yesterday the flower had not color to it – and now they are were springing up with an explosion of pink and hints of yellow. Even with the difference of a couple of hours I had noticed significant growth. If they continue at this pace I wonder how long they will even last – I guess I will have to worry about that later.

I have been watering the tulips each time I feel that the surface dirt is starting to become too dry and all I see is green – I think I am doing fine with keeping it nourished with water and sunshine – I’m not sure if there is anything else I can do at this point but to admire the process.

Tulips at 9:30 AM

Tulips at 5:00 PM

I notice that my tulips are two colors, pink and yellow – and I begin to worry because I had read about a type of disease that effects tulips in such a way that it gives the flower a dual coloring. So I did some research on the matter:

The Tulip Breaking Virus (TBV) is viral infection which ‘breaks’ the single block of colour normally displayed on tulips, adding a stunning striation of white or yellow coloured strips. As beautiful as this effect may be, there is a terrible downside due to the harmful effects of the virus. In many cases the virus is severely detrimental to the health of the bulb, reducing its vigour, and making it difficult to propagate. Eventually the bulb would lose its strength and eventually wither to nothing – ending the genetic line.

Today the virus is almost eradicated from tulip growers’ fields. Those Tulips affected by mosaic virus are called “Broken tulips”; they will occasionally revert to a plain or solid colouring, but still remain infected with the virus.

So, false alarm. But it was interesting to hear that plants can have their genetic shortcoming just like humans and animals.

Leave a Reply

